Blog Songo.info Find a reason to get off the couch – General tips – gomulti.co.za

My first blog post on GoMulti.co.za

Blog Songo.info Find a reason to get off the couch – General tips – gomulti.co.za.

Blog Songo.info Find a reason to get off the couch - General tips - gomulti.co.za

I did the XTERRA Lite in 2008 and while almost drowning, pushing my bike up all the hills and walking the run, I really enjoyed myself. What struck me about the XTERRA athletes, and I’m referring to the professionals here, is how quick they are relative to the teams and the others who are doing it as a fun event. That year Dan Hugo came in 6 minutes faster than my time but he did more than double the distance!

In April this year, while away on a company team builder, I decided to start training for something I have wanted to do for years and for whatever reason just put it off and put it off. I currently only mountain bike and do the odd road race, maybe 2 or 3 a year, so a proper off road triathlon is a great way to introduce multisport into the enjoyment of the outdoors!

The XTERRA Lite was great so the XTERRA Full will be a real challenge. But why just do this for selfish and personal reasons? I need some motivation for the XTERRA so I need to add something else I would really like to accomplish. I decided that I would set myself a goal to raise R15,000 in cash for Songo.info. The fact that I love mountain biking and that Songo is making a difference in his community through MTB and BMX struck a chord with me.

As I mentioned above I am hoping to raise R15,000 in cash through the contributions from my fellow Grabouw XTERRA 2013 team members and other multi-sporters and companies who would like to make a contribution for Songo.info, which is a powerful collaboration of Christoph Sauser, world champion mountain biker and Songo Fipaza, a well-recognised local community leader. In 2008 the two guys came together to give rise to the program, songo.info to uplift Kayamandi by creating a community for children and a safe place for them to grow and develop. It is Songo Fipaza’s dream to provide the Songo.info children with the possibility to go out and achieve their dreams, no matter how big or small, providing opportunities that have not been available to his community. Songo’s goals are significant: to look after and protect our children; and to provide them with opportunities as all children should have with the belief that anything is possible.

Follow me through my journey to raise the total I set for myself and get fit enough to enjoyt the XTERRA Full with my team mates and fellow XTERRA athletes.

For those that don’t know, and I’m sure you all do know, the XTERRA is an off-road triathlon consisting of the following:

  • 1.5 km swim
  • 27 km mountain bike
  • 11 km run

Please get in touch with me if you would like to join the team and/or make a donation. Any and all donations are welcome.

Steve Bryant

This entry was posted in Mountain Biking and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

